Press Room

Players Choice Awards honor on-field and community leadership in Marvin Miller Man of the Year voting

Players Choice Awards honor on-field and community leadership in Marvin Miller Man of the Year voting


NEW YORK, Oct. 12 – The players on each club who received the most votes from their peers for the 2018 Marvin Miller Man of the Year in recent balloting will receive a grant to a charity of his choice from the Major League Baseball Players Trust.

The overall winner of the prestigious award, named for the founding executive director of the Major League Baseball Players Association, will receive a grant for $50,000.  Grants of $10,000 go to the players who place second and third, and the leading vote recipient from each club (listed below) will receive a $2,500 grant. 

Additionally, the 2018 Player of the Year will receive a $50,000 grant and the eight league-wide Players Choice Award winners will receive grants of $20,000 each.  Runners-up in all categories receive $10,000 and third-place finishers $5,000. 

All told, the 2018 Players Choice Award winners will designate charities to receive grants totaling nearly $500,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on- and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world.

Through their collective charity, players pool resources to support efforts that provide hope, sustainability and lasting change around the world, especially in the many places players call home. Players direct grants to the wide range of causes they support – from disaster relief to health and human services to growing baseball in the United States and abroad. 

The three finalists for each of the 10 Players Choice Awards will be announced in the coming weeks and the winners will be announced on the evening of Nov. 27.

The Players Choice Awards are held in high regard by players because the winners are selected in balloting among their peers.  In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year and the overall Player of the Year, players in each league choose their outstanding players, pitchers and rookies as well as a comeback player.

For the Marvin Miller Award, players are asked to vote for the player they “most respect based on his leadership on the field and in the community.” Recent winners include Anthony Rizzo (2017), Curtis Granderson (2009, 2016), Adam Jones (2015), Clayton Kershaw (2014) and Mariano Rivera (2013).

Listed below are the players who received the most Marvin Miller award votes on their respective teams during balloting conducted by the accounting firm KPMG on Sept. 18-19:

Paul Goldschmidt

Arizona Diamondbacks

Freddie Freeman

Atlanta Braves

Adam Jones

Baltimore Orioles

Mookie Betts

Boston Red Sox

Anthony Rizzo

Chicago Cubs

Tim Anderson

Chicago White Sox

Joey Votto

Cincinnati Reds

Francisco Lindor

Cleveland Indians

Ian Desmond

Colorado Rockies

Víctor Martínez

Detroit Tigers

Martín Prado

Miami Marlins

Jose Altuve

Houston Astros

Salvador Pérez

Kansas City Royals

Mike Trout

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

Clayton Kershaw

Los Angeles Dodgers

Corey Knebel

Milwaukee Brewers

Joe Mauer

Minnesota Twins

José Reyes

New York Mets

CC Sabathia

New York Yankees

Chad Pinder

Oakland Athletics

Rhys Hoskins

Philadelphia Phillies

Jameson Taillon

Pittsburgh Pirates

Yadier Molina

St. Louis Cardinals

Clayton Richard

San Diego Padres

Andrew McCutchen/Buster Posey

San Francisco Giants

Nelson Cruz

Seattle Mariners

Chris Archer

Tampa Bay Rays

Adrian Beltré

Texas Rangers

Curtis Granderson

Toronto Blue Jays

Ryan Zimmerman

Washington Nationals

Click here for a brief overview of the community activity for each of the 30 Marvin Miller Man of the Year leading vote recipients on each club. For additional information, please visit