25th Annual Players Choice Awards to Air Nov. 9

Major League Baseball Players Will Announce Winners of 25th Annual Players Choice Awards Exclusively on MLB Network Wednesday, November 9, 8-9:30 PM ET.

New York, NY, Tuesday, November 8, 2016 - Major League Baseball Players will announce the winners of their highest honors – the Players Choice Awards – exclusively on MLB Network, this Wednesday, November 9, from 8:00 – 9:30 PM ET.  Vying for top honor as 2016 Player of the Year are Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, Mookie Betts and David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox. 

The Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, presented by MLB The Show ™, will be hosted by MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger, Cliff Floyd and Kelly Nash.  MLB Network has exclusively televised the Players Choice Awards since 2011. MLB Network’s local channel listings are available at

The MLBPA’s Players Choice Awards program benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust, the charitable foundation created and run by the players themselves.  2016 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. [Note: The eight League winners receive $20,000 grants each and the two overall winners receive $50,000 grants each.)   

Leading the voting for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the MLBPA’s first executive director and given annually to the player who inspires others through his on-field performances and contributions to his community, are Curtis Granderson of the New York Mets, Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs and Justin Turner of the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Through his Grand Kids Foundation, Granderson inspires and encourages positive youth development via education, physical fitness and nutrition - providing tools and resources for educational and societal advancement. Rizzo founded the Rizzo Family Foundation to raise money for cancer research and to provide support to children and their families battling the disease. Turner lends his time and support to a number of causes, including the Los Angeles Dream Center and its annual Back to School Bash that distributed 2,000 backpacks to LA youth in need.

Players Choice Awards have been presented each year since 1992, when Major Leaguers selected Dennis Eckersley and Barry Bonds as the AL & NL Outstanding Players, respectively. Today, the players annually honor the outstanding player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league, while the Player of the Year and Man of the Year awards bestow top honors without regard to league.  Balloting for the 2016 Players Choice Awards was conducted in all Major League clubhouses on September 20, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

The Players Trust raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement.  Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world. For additional information, please visit


Majestic Athletic, a proud sponsor of the 2016 Players Choice Awards on MLB Network, will be presenting its second annual “Always Game” award during the broadcast.  Finalists for the "Always Game" award, given to the player who - game in and game out - constantly exhibits grit, tenacity, perseverance and hustle; all for the benefit of his teammates and fans, are last year’s winner Jose Altuve of the Houston Astros, Francisco Lindor of the Cleveland Indians and Corey Seager of the Los Angeles Dodgers. Altuve, Lindor and Seager were chosen as finalists by the players from a group of nominees originally selected by Majestic Athletic and a panel of baseball experts.

Below please find the complete list of 2016 Players Choice Awards finalists.


2016 Players Choice Awards Finalists:

American League:

Outstanding Player:  Jose Altuve (Houston Astros); Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox); Mike Trout (LA Angels)

Outstanding Pitcher: Zach Britton (Baltimore Orioles); Corey Kluber (Cleveland Indians); Rick Porcello (Boston Red Sox)

Outstanding Rookie: Michael Fulmer (Detroit Tigers); Tyler Naquin (Cleveland Indians); Gary Sanchez (NY Yankees)

Comeback Player: Yu Darvish (Texas Rangers); Ian Desmond (Texas Rangers); Mark Trumbo (Baltimore Orioles)

National League:

Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies); Kris Bryant (Chicago Cubs); Daniel Murphy (Washington Nationals)

Outstanding Pitcher: Kyle Hendricks (Chicago Cubs); Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers); Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals)

Outstanding Rookie: Aledmys Diaz (St. Louis Cardinals); Corey Seager (Los Angeles Dodgers); Trea Turner (Washington Nationals)

Comeback Player: Jose Fernandez (Miami Marlins); Rich Hill (Los Angeles Dodgers); Jean Segura (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Either League:

Player of Year: Jose Altuve (Houston Astros); Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox); David Ortiz (Boston Red Sox)

Man of the Year: Curtis Granderson (NY Mets); Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs); Justin Turner (Los Angeles Dodgers)


For the complete list of previous winners, please click here.