2018 Players Choice Awards Winners Announced


Related Links

Curtis Granderson and J.D. Martinez took top honors in the 2018 Players Choice Awards.


Players selected Granderson for an unprecedented third time as their Marvin Miller Man of the Year, and Martinez won the Player of the Year award.


Eight others were also selected as award winners. In the American League, players selected Mookie Betts as Outstanding Player, Blake Snell as Outstanding Pitcher, Miguel Andújar as Outstanding Rookie, and Michael Brantley as Comeback Player. As for the National League, Christian Yelich was voted Outstanding Player, Jacob deGrom Outstanding Pitcher, Ronald Acuña Jr. Outstanding Rookie and Matt Kemp Comeback Player.


The winners of the Players Choice Awards are selected in balloting among the players. Voting is conducted each season in clubhouses in mid-September by the accounting firm KPMG.


Granderson and Martinez will each receive a $50,000 grant from the Major League Baseball Players trust to donate to a charity of their choice. The second and third-place finishers receive a $10,000 grant each.


Winners of the eight league-wide awards receive a $20,000 grant each. Second place finishers in those eight categories will receive $10,000 and the third-place finishers will receive $5,000.

Curtis Granderson 2018 Marvin Miller Man of the Year

J.D. Martinez 2018 Player of the Year

Christian Yelich 2018 National League Outstanding Player

Mookie Betts 2018 American League Outstanding Player

Jacob deGrom 2018 National League Outstanding Pitcher

Blake Snell 2018 American League Outstanding Pitcher

Ronald Acuña Jr. 2018 National League Outstanding Rookie

Miguel Andújar 2018 American League Outstanding Rookie

Matt Kemp 2018 National League Comeback Player

Michael Brantley 2018 American League Comeback Player