Finalists Announced In The 2021 Players Choice Awards Presented By MLB The Show

NEW YORK, Oct. 21Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Bryce Harper and Shohei Ohtani are the finalists for Player of the Year in balloting for the 2021 Players Choice Awards presented by MLB The Show. The winners will be announced Thursday, Oct. 28, on ESPN’s 6 p.m. SportsCenter.

Andrew Miller, Max Scherzer and Marcus Semien are the nominees for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, which goes to the player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.”

The Players Choice Awards presented by MLB The Show have special significance to players because the winners are selected in balloting among their peers. In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year and Player of the Year award winners, the outstanding players, pitchers, rookies and comeback players in both the American and National Leagues will be recognized.

The 2021 Curt Flood Award recipient will also be announced. The award is given annually to “a former player, living or deceased, who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of players’ rights.”

Marvin Miller, who served as the Major League Baseball Players Association’s first full-time executive director from 1966-1982 and guided its emergence as one of the country’s strongest and most cohesive labor unions, was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in September. Curtis Granderson, who retired after the 2019 season, won the Miller award four times. Other recent honorees include Nelson Cruz (2020), Anthony Rizzo (2017), Adam Jones (2015) and Clayton Kershaw (2014).

Below are all the finalists:

Player of the Year

Vladimir Guerrero Jr., B