top of page
Web Title.jpg
Web Title.jpg

Since 1997, Major Leaguers have recognized the on and off-field achievements of their peers through the Players Choice Awards program. To date, the MLBPA charitable arm The Players Trust has recognized the outstanding performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing more than $4 million to charities around the world on behalf of each Award winner.

The Players Choice Awards are voted on uniquely by the active MLB Player membership.

Read official press release here

The 2020 Players Choice Awards Winners:

The Curt Flood Award:  Andre Dawson

Marvin Miller Man of the Year:  Nelson Cruz

Player of the Year: Freddie Freeman

AL Outstanding Player: José Abreu

NL Outstanding Player: Freddie Freeman


AL Outstanding Pitcher: Shane Bieber

NL Outstanding Pitcher: Trevor Bauer 

AL Outstanding Rookie:  Kyle Lewis

NL Outstanding Rookie:  Jake Cronenworth

AL Comeback Player:  Carlos Carrasco

NL Comeback Player:  Daniel Bard


As the only award voted on by the active Major League Players, we gave this year’s winners the opportunity to provide their unique perspective on why each winner was recognized for their achievements in 2020.